Cut the Fat…5 tips to save some dough!

Here are some of my top tips for trimming the fat in your monthly budget to live a more stress free life:

 

1.Go outsideThis is free , fun and most people do not spend enough time soaking up Vitamin D anyways.

2. Turn off the TVOK I am a TV freak from The Bachelor to HEROES I love me some prime-time, but I don’t love it as much as I love $100 bucks.  I just turned off our DVR, Digital Program Box, and turned the house phone off (the only people who call are salesmen anyway) and we saved $98.21.  That is over $1,100/year!

3. Put your cell phone on a diet  Companies like Verizon are not offering free family and friends connections (up to 10) in addition to free nights and weekends, for us this made or usage go down to about 700 min.  Saving a whopping $60 each month.

4. Start a babysitting camp. My Mom used to do this when she was a single mom – Round up all the kids you parents you know and offer to do an overnight babysitting camp at your house, 5pm-9am.  My mom used to make about $700 a night!

5. Cook. Plain and simple, start cooking it is a great way to improve your health, build your family relationships, and save on eating out.  I like to cook extras on Sunday nights so that we will have good healthy options for breakfast and lunch through out the week (see egg muffin post).

This entry was posted in Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment